2019 ICC Cricket World Cup Prize Money – Winning Amount

The ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 is all set to take place from 30th May 2019 and will host by England & Wales Cricket Board.

ICC-Cricket-World-Cup-2019 Prize Money

The Cricket World Cup 2019 is just some time away as it starts on 30 May 2019 and will be played in the cricket house in England and Wales. The ICC has already announced the prize money, which is 40% more than the World Cup 2015 and a 60% increase over the 2011 tournament. The ICC announced that for every win in the round-robin phase, a $ 5 million (USD) and $ 50,000 guarantee will be given to the winning participating teams totaling $ 14 million.

Back in 2011, ICC doubled the offer price pool to 200 World Cup 2007, and by 20% increase in the prize money, the total pool in 2015 was $ 10m.

cricket world cup 2019 Price Money

The current increase of 40% for the 2019 World Cup is less than a welcome and consideration team in 2018 compared to 2015, all participating countries will get a big share in this World Cup. How the prize money will be provided between the 10 teams in the World Cup, there is a complete break.


Cricket World Cup 2019 – Prize Money Breakdown (Confirmed by ICC)
Winners $4.8 million $3.975 million
Runners-up $2.2 million $1.75 million
2 Losing Semi-Finalists $1 million (each) $600,000 (each)
Eliminated teams from group stages $500,000 (each) $300,000 each (quarterfinalists)
Winning group match $50,000 (for every group match win) $45,000 (for every group match win)
TOTAL $14million $10million


History of Cricket World Cup Prize Money:

cricket world cup 2019 price money


ICC has been increasing the prize money with every passing world cup, back in 2003 world cup which took place in South Africa the total prize money pool was around $4.5 million where the winner received $2million but there was no compensation for teams losing out in group stages. The prize money was more a less same for the 2007 world cup but in 20011 ICC almost doubled the total prize money pool, another 20% increase in 2015 took the total pool to $10 million and now ICC announced yet another 40% increase for 2019 World Cup taking total prize money pool to massive $14 million.

Historic Prize Money Breakdown Of Previous World Cups
Winners Runnerup Semifinal (Losing Teams) Quarterfinals (Losing Teams) Total
2003 $2m $800,000 $200,000 $75,000 $4.5m
2007  $2.4m $1m $400,000 $175,000 $5m
2011  $3.2m $1.5m $500,000 $225,000 $8m
2015  $3.9m $1.75m $600,000 $300,000 $10m
2019  $5m $2.2m $1m $500,000 (8 eliminated teams in the group stage) $14m

The winner of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 will receive US$ 4,800,000 while the runner-up team will get US$ 2,200,000. Teams participating in the tournament will earn $$500,000 even after they eliminated after the group stage. The 2019 World Cup Prize Money in Indian rupees will be 32,99,54,400 (33 Crore Approx).

ICC has increased the world cup prize money with every edition, in 2015 the total prize money was $10m and now it is 14 million for the 2019 World Cup. The tournament is scheduled to be played in England and Wales from 30 May to 14 July 2019.

The World Cup will witness 10 teams competing against each other and a total of 45 matches will be played with each team playing nine matches. The top four teams from the group stage will progress to the knockout stage. Australia has won the cup in 2015 and they are the defending champions.

kapil dev cricket world cup


Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *